Dec 02, 2020 Last Updated 5:17 PM, Oct 16, 2020

Certification Body Accreditation

Certification Body Accreditation

The accreditation of certification bodies attests to the competence of organizations which provide certification of management systems, products, services, processes and personnel. There are ISO or ISO/IEC standards that describe the requirements for competence in each such scheme.

Examples of these include:

  • Accreditation to ISO/IEC 17021-1 Conformity assessment - requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of management systems, where the management system may be in accordance with:
    • ISO 9001 to deliver certification of quality management systems
    • ISO 14000 to deliver certification of environmental management systems
    • ISO 22000 to deliver certification of food safety management systems
  • Accreditation to ISO/IEC 17024 Conformity assessment – requirements for bodies operating of persons
  • Accreditation to ISO/IEC 17065 Conformity assessment - requirements for bodies certifying products, processes and services

JANAAC has not yet accredited any certification bodies but the agency is making preparations to commence doing so shortly.

Notice of Transition to
ISO/IEC 17011:2017

    JANAAC has completed the transition to the revised ISO/IEC 17011 standard, as was demonstrated by the satisfactory results obtained from the most recent IAAC peer evaluation. As such, all our accreditation activities are being conducted in accordance with the requirements of the ISO/IEC 17011:2017 standard.

    Notice of Transition to
    ISO/IEC 17025:2017

    ILAC, in consultation with ISO, agreed on a three-year period for laboratories that demonstrate conformity to the ISO/IEC 17025 standard, to make the transition from ISO/IEC 17025:2005, to the ISO/IEC 17025:2017 version of the standard. A joint ILAC-ISO communique was issued indicating the transition period would end on November 30, 2020. Due to the outbreak of the coronavirus disease, ILAC and ISO agreed to extend the transition period to June 1, 2021. Accordingly, JANAAC requires its accredited laboratories to make this transition to the ISO/IEC 17025:2017 standard by June 1, 2021. After this date, accreditation to ISO/IEC 17025:2005 will no longer be valid. During this transition period, both revisions of the standard are equally valid and applicable. JANAAC will no longer accept applications for accreditation to the ISO/IEC 17025:2005 standard and is aiming to complete all transition assessments before September 30, 2020. All assessments (initial, re-assessments and interim assessments, including scope extensions) are being conducted using the revised standard, ISO/IEC 17025:2017. All accredited and applicant testing and calibration laboratories must have copies of the revised standard and should be well advanced in updating their activities to satisfy the new requirements in order to meet the transition timelines. Please contact JANAAC for any further information and clarification required.