Jun 14, 2024 Last Updated 5:10 PM, May 30, 2024

FDA Third-Party Certification Program

The Jamaica National Agency for Accreditation (JANAAC) is recognised by the United States (U.S.) Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as an accreditation body under the Accredited Third-Party Certification Program (TPP). This program was established under the FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) finalised in 2015 to ensure that imported products meet U.S. standards and are safe for U.S. consumers. 


Under the FDA TPP, JANAAC has authority to accredit third-party certification bodies to conduct food safety audits and issue certifications of foreign food facilities including commercial farms, packing operations, and food processing facilities that produce food for humans and animals. These certifications can be used by importers to establish eligibility for participation in the Voluntary Qualified Importer Program (VQIP) which offers expedited review and entry of food to the United States. In specific circumstances the FDA may require that imported products be certified before entry to the United States to prevent or minimise the risk of adverse health consequences from the consumption of contaminated food.


Description automatically generated

Source: Graphic of the U.S. Food & Drug Administration Accredited Third-Party Certification Program. https://www.fda.gov/food/importing-food-products-united-states/accredited-third-party-certification-program 


The U.S. FDA has recognised JANAAC to accredit certification bodies with the ability to conduct food safety audits under the following scopes of accreditation:


  1. Acidified Foods (A.F.)
  2. Dietary Supplements
  3. Juice Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (Juice HACCP)
  4. Low-Acid Canned Foods (LACF)
  5. Medicated Feed Current Good Manufacturing Practices (Medicated Feed CGMPs)
  6. Preventive Controls for Animal Food (PCAF)
  7. Preventive Controls for Human Food (PCHF)
  8. Produce Safety
  9. Seafood Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (Seafood HACCP) 
  10. Shell Eggs


Accreditation Requirements

JANAAC assesses certification bodies that apply for FDA TPP accreditation against the criteria found within the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 21 Chapter 1-Subchapter A-Part 1-Subpart M: Accreditation of Third-Party Certification Bodies to Conduct Food Safety Audits and to Issue Certifications

For further details on the 21 CFR, please click here https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=a2e140e81a5f54b64c8deac6d558b7c8&mc=true&node=sp21.1.1.m&rgn=div6#sg21.1.1_1645.sg19 


Click here to download the JANAAC FDA TPP Accreditation Process Flowchart 


Apply Now!


To receive a quote and apply for accreditation, kindly send applications to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Click here to download the JANAAC FDA TPP Application Form & Questionnaire